Pubs and Hotels
Around the turn of the 17th century an old medieval stone-built house at No. 25 High Street, St Martin’s was converted into a travellers’ inn. In the early 17th century the front wall was rebuilt with fashionable canted window bays and large mullion and transom windows on the first floor. These alterations may have been associated with the building’s use as an inn, but the earliest reference to it having such a function is in a lease of 1660 when it was called the Falcon & Woolpack.
Following a number of landlords who bought new names to the Inn, in 1739 the pub was taken over by Walter Robinson, a former coachman to the Earl of Exeter, who changed the name to the Bull & Swan which remains the case today.
The Bull and Swan reopened in December 2010 after 8 months of renovation work. It is now a thriving pub with two restaurants and a bar as well as an extensive terraced area whilst accommodation is readily available with 7 ensuite bedrooms. A fine example of the Estate building department’s work is highlighted with the recent re-roofing of the Collyweston stone slate roof.
Formerly known as The Lady Anne’s Hotel, The William Cecil Hotel on High Street, St Martins comprises three buildings, each with its own unique listing. Lady Anne is buried in the family crypt at St Martin’s Church and it was after her that the hotel was named until the change of name to The William Cecil in 2010.
No. 36 was described as “newly built” in 1771 for John Clarke, the 9th Earl of Exeter’s clerk, whose father William was a notable Stamford quarryman and mason. The house was then extended at the rear in the early 19th century.
The William Cecil Hotel reopened in July 2011 having been closed for fifteen months. The hotels bespoke accommodation includes 27 bedrooms with a restaurant, bar, conference rooms and a permanent function marquee.
Situated in St Martins, Stamford, The Garden House Hotel is not only a fine example of a period building but also showcases the new and extensive project of Collyweston stone slate roofing. During 2012 the rear elevation of the building was re-slated as part of a re-roofing programme by the Estate building department.
Collyweston stone slate roofs are one of the most distinctive and familiar features of the historic towns and villages around the village of Collyweston just outside Stamford.
The Estate employs two full time Collyweston slaters who maintain and replace roofs across the Estate. Collyweston stone slate roofs make a unique contribution to the distinctive local character of both the everyday and the prestigious buildings which lie along the limestone belt which continues north from the Cotswolds.
Collyweston village lies within the heart of the Estate, so naturally a significant amount of Estate property is Collyweston slated there are highly skilled full time slaters employed to upkeep these traditional roofs in sound repair.